Where Are You, My Love?

Where are you, my love?
I need you, to feel normal again
And not just because I’ve grown used to you
(It helps)
The bags under my eyes do not look like mine.
My poetry frightens me.

Where are you, my love?
It feels like Friday feels
And not just because it is
(It helps)
Piece me back together again. Please?
Everything is dusty and old.

Where are you, my love?
My fingernails are bluer than yesterday
And not just because of the temperature
(It helps)
This afternoon seems a lifetime ago.
Help me not to feel undone again.

Where are you, my love?
The pulse I’m used to is now sharper, quicker
And not just because the coffee was strong and I haven’t eaten
(It helps)
I ground my teeth too hard and my neck is too tight to belong to me.
Hold me still so my mind may quieten.

Leave a Reply

