Almost 1am

It’s almost 1am
and my forehead is clammy
from the heat and
the noise inside my head
that won’t stop

grinding out every possible explanation
for every possible action
the ones that weren’t, too
Would that I could unscrew a cog
or disengage the connection

Can the humidity
the stifling claustrophobic heat
cause the fog that settles
over almost every thought
and memory

If I ice my head will the fever
the imagined one
recede from the shore

How many nights have I spent
exactly this way

Leave a Reply

