This Is 100% Me. Plus, Tumblr Love.

I can (and do) spend hours and hours on Tumblr. As a person with a short attention span who loves gifs and thought-provoking quotes, it’s my dreamland. Plus, unlike on WordPress, you can create or use a rad custom HTML theme *side-eyes WordPress for days*… I HAVE THE SAME THEME AS EVERYBODY I HAVE EVER FOLLOWED OR SEEN ON THIS STUPID WEBSITE WELCOME TO COMMUNIST HELL WHERE ARE MY RIGHTS?!

My Tumblog started out as a fashion/style sort of themed thing, but has lately deteriorated into a fandom-centric dumpster. Which is fine by me, because I have gained, like, a million followers from it. Everyone knows you’re not popular until you’re Tumblr popular, right?

While browsing through my tags, I’ve noticed something: Tumblr is a very therapeutic, safe space in which you can express yourself. I have a whole “about me” tag, and will also often tag posts with “this is so me!” and “this is 100% me” and sometimes “nothing has ever been more me before” or just the classic “same”. This has provided me with a lot of ammunition for when I have an interview and need to answer a pointless “Tell me about yourself” question.

Sure, I’ll tell you about myself. Here’s a little bit about me:

  • a moody pencil illustration of a girl sleeping
  • lots of it’s-funny-because-it’s-true text posts about procrastination and lack of motivation
  • a colourful gif of Cher from Clueless looking thoughtful with her fluffy pink pen with speech bubbles that just say “k” floating around her and hamburgers and roses underneath her (for your viewing pleasure) (I even tagged this one “my entire aesthetic”, which is fair)
  • a woman sitting in a tree wearing brogues
  • multiple emoji references
  • mainly the painting nails emoji
  • April Ludgate

I think it’s fair to say that this is 100% me. Nothing has ever been more me before. It’s just so me. Same.

Leave a Reply

